This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Portugal

Portugal is made up of 20 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Portugal. Information on all primary administrative regions in Portugal.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Portugal alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Portugal

There are 20 regions in Portugal in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Portugal
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Aveiro Distrito de Aveiro1.713,578Aveiro Aveiro54,162
Azores Azores2.242,902Ponta Delgada Ponta Delgada20,056
Beja Distrito de Beja3.161,211Beja Beja34,760
Braga Distrito de Braga4.831,368Braga Braga121,394
Braganca Distrito de Bragança5.148,808Braganca Bragança34,375
Castelo Branco Distrito de Castelo Branco6.208,070Castelo Branco Castelo Branco33,479
Coimbra Distrito de Coimbra7.441,245Coimbra Coimbra106,582
Evora Distrito de Évora8.173,408Evora Évora55,620
Faro Distrito de Faro9.458,734Faro Faro41,355
Guarda Distrito da Guarda10.173,716Guarda Guarda32,111
Leiria Distrito de Leiria11.459,450Leiria Leiria45,112
Lisbon Distrito de Lisboa12.2,135,992Lisbon Lisbon517,802
Madeira Madeira13.238,928Funchal Funchal100,847
Portalegre Distrito de Portalegre14.127,018Portalegre Portalegre15,581
Porto Distrito do Porto15.1,781,826Porto Porto249,633
Santarem Distrito de Santarém16.475,344Santarem Santarém29,385
Setubal Distrito de Setúbal17.788,459Setubal Setúbal117,110
Viana do Castelo Distrito de Viana do Castelo18.252,011Viana do Castelo Viana do Castelo15,555
Vila Real Distrito de Vila Real19.223,731Vila Real Vila Real17,001
Viseu Distrito de Viseu20.394,927Viseu Viseu26,364